Llanelwedd Church in Wales Primary School

Becoming the people God meant us to be


The Curriculum for Wales

We continue to work to implement the new Curriculum for Wales.


What are we doing?

Planning for the development of appropriate knowledge, skills and experiences trough an authentic and relevant curriculum in an environment that inspires aspirations.


How are we doing this?

Through the 12 pedagogical principles based on the “teach less and learn more principal”. Providing a flexible environment that provides independence and interdependence.


The new curriculum is built on the four purposes of the curriculum for learners to become:


- Ambitious and Capable Learners.

- Enterprising and Creative Contributors.

- Ethically informed Citizens of Wales and the World.

- Healthy and confident individuals.


The new areas of the curriculum are known as Areas of Learning and Experiences which are:

- Health and Wellbeing.

- Science and Technology.

- Language, Literacy and Communication.

- Maths and Numeracy.

- Expressive Arts.

- Humanities.


All of these areas are as important as each other and interlinked. However,

- Language, Literacy and Communication.

- Maths and Numeracy.

- Digital competence,


are to be developed across all areas of the AoLE's.


We pervious curriculum operated as Foundation Phase (Reception, Year 1 and Year 2) and Key Stage 2 (Years 3 - 6).


This will change to:


Progression Step 1: Little Learners and Reception.

Progression Step 2: Years 1, 2 and 3.

Progression Step 3: Years 4, 5 and 6.  


Owing to the size of the school our classes don't fall into neat little compartments and some classes may teach across more than one progression step.


The new curriculum is based on a continuum of learning as pupils progress.

Llanelwedd School Curriculum Statement